We’ve been bootlegged!

Mishka Bootlegs
These are bootleg Mishka Monogram New Eras

They say its a sign of success when someone bootlegs you, I suppose. I love vintage bootleg toys, mostly because they are just so far off from the original that it’s comical and slightly amazing. This on the other hand, kind of pisses me off.

I saw someone post this on the Hypebeast Forums about this webstore called CML Sports which also sells bootlegs of Supreme, 10 Deep, and Flying Coffin New Eras to name a few.

Mishka Monograms
These are actual Mishka Monogram New Eras

The funny and interesting thing about this cap, is that 1) it was the least popular hat out of the 3 New Eras we released for Spring 07 and 2) what they bootlegged were the very first prototypes we ever received and later made changes to. If you look at the photo of the final product, above you can see that hey are different from the ones on CML Sports. The pattern on the real one is larger and our logo on the front is done with flat embroidery not 3D style. Plus the “cherry” version is a very off-color of our Magenta Monogram Cap. It’s color are actually based on a proto (in burgundy with carolina print) that would eventually be the magenta cap that we only ever had one sample of and rejected. Wonder where they get the sample cap from? Hmm… interesting.

So just a heads up that none of the caps on CBL Sports are authentic

9 Responses to “We’ve been bootlegged!”

  1. Eugene WuGgaRoO Says:

    Thanks for the heads up.. I am just getting into Mishka brand, and I just assumed not too much of your stuff gets bootlegged, but apparently, I was wrong.

    However, congrats on getting well-known enough to bootleg, and thanks for the info.. its nice to see a company trying to do the right thing and keeping their customers informed with potential frauds.

  2. chenz in the benz with 3 frendz with mac tenz Says:

    Are you guys going to do anything about CML Sports selling these fakes, or you guys just going to let them get away with this?

  3. Prolly Says:

    We’re sending the Drunken Twerps! to attack them!

  4. Little Robbie Says:

    I actually saw a guy on ebay selling the fake teal about 6 or so, possibly more, months ago and totally called him on it. He said it was a sample, and it thought that was kind of weird, then I got to thinking how weird it was for people to be making Mishka fakes, especially, like you mentioned above, this hat, in these colors, were the least popular of the first run of hats. All in all, pretty fucked.

  5. Eugene "WuGgaRoO Says:

    Hey, I am actually trying to find some older MISHKA shirts.. i never thought they might be bootlegged… you think these are legitimate pairs of mishka t-shirts??

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=260233150795&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=016

    and all the other hirts this seller is showing?

  6. My Pal the Crook Says:

    they look OK to me.

  7. Little Robbie Says:

    Here we go.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/MISHKA-MNWKA-Fitted-Cap-Hat-New-Flocking-Light-7-1-2_W0QQitemZ110248762281QQihZ001QQcategoryZ52366QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    http://cgi.ebay.com/MISHKA-MNWKA-Fitted-Cap-Hat-New-Flocking-Cherry-7-1-2_W0QQitemZ110248762586QQihZ001QQcategoryZ52366QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

  8. andrew Says:

    i saw a girl on the subway the other day sporting an eyeball hoody, and i thought oh, neat, until i realized that i don’t remember you making eyeball hoodies. i looked closer and it was totally not the same design, although very very similar. it was definitely a HUH… WHAT moment.

  9. Steve Says:

    Hi guys, I just received the two hats above from CML sports. It has been the first time I didn’t do a legit check on an ebay seller…they have mostly positive feedback. When I saw the package with a stamp from China I was suspicious as they communicate with New Zealand in their ebay account…when checking on forums if they were legit I came to the conclusion that I’ve been fooled. The caps look neat though, but it feels wrong to have non-authentic gear. Avoid this seller and support the right and authentic retailers. Holla from The Netherlands! Steve

Leave a Reply